gregcollette's profile

Greg Collette

Location:
Melbourne, Australia

Date Joined:
05 Nov, 2017

Approved Reviews:
12

gregcollette's reviews

Displaying 1-6 of 15 reviews

"Excellent care, but a little tired"

4.0

Lewisham Clinic - Diaverum

Reviewed: 02/11/18

The care was excellent and both staff and patients were very friendly. When I was there, the unit itself was a little run down, though I understand it has been improved since then. Getting there from London (we were in Hammersmith) by train is a bit of a two-act play (underground and overground) and the walk from the station seems a little dodgy. I would definitely go by Uber/Cab at night. Diaverum has a strong focus on holiday dialysis, and all their European units are easy to find. Start booking by filling in a short General Inquiries form. The response is prompt.

Comfort Quality of Care

3.5

5.0

Cleanliness Ease of Booking

4.5

3.5

"Excellent holiday unit in the middle of the goldfields"

4.5

Bendigo Dialysis Unit

Reviewed: 09/10/18

A new unit, with very friendly, welcoming staff. Easy to get the session time I needed. No delays; calm and professional. Perfect location for a goldfields holiday, five minutes from the city centre (and excellent coffee) 10 minutes from a working gold mine! Bendigo is a great holiday city with lots to see and do.

Comfort Quality of Care

4.0

5.0

Cleanliness Ease of Booking

4.5

4.5

"Excellent dialysis on the Bass Coast"

4.5

Wonthaggi Dialysis Unit

Reviewed: 28/03/18

We travelled to Inverloch for a family holiday last Christmas and I dialysed at Wonthaggi. Staff were both capable and very friendly. I forgot my buttonhole needles, so for the first time in years, I used sharp needles. Or at least the staff did, and they did a great job. I'd certainly go back.

Comfort Quality of Care

3.5

4.5

Cleanliness Ease of Booking

4.5

4.0

"For a relaxing holiday at the beach"

4.5

Rosebud Hospital Renal Dialysis Unit

Reviewed: 22/03/18

In March 2014, Julie and I took a short break at Rosebud, about 75 km (45 miles) from home. We planned the break in January, about eight weeks before. Many friends at dialysis have raved about the Rosebud unit, so we thought it would be good to check it out. It’s a pretty busy unit, with lots of locals and a constant stream of holiday dialysers. Chris, my Unit Manager contacted them and after a bit of negotiation, we settled on dates. These days fitted in with my usual routine, so that was one less thing to disrupt the flow of good Karma that I rely on to stay party-fit. The Rosebud unit turned out to be all it was talked up to be and more: clean and modern, friendly and skilled staff and most accommodating. I can understand why it is so popular, and I look forward to joining the holiday queue in the future.

Comfort Quality of Care

4.0

5.0

Cleanliness Ease of Booking

5.0

4.5

"Premium dialysis, premium service, sting in the tail"

4.5

The London Clinic

Reviewed: 02/03/18, Edited: 02/03/18

I’ve been to the London Clinic almost every time I’ve travelled to the UK. And I like it a lot (with one reservation). Why? In theory, UK dialysis is free to Australian patients. However, the reality is that the NHS in London is super-busy all the time, and their dialysis units are usually operating at full capacity. I have tried to book into public BigD units in London, with zero success, so in the past I have used a private unit (The London Clinic) and limited my travel to day trips close to London. I love The London Clinic. I feel safe, comfy, even pampered. But this all comes at a price – Around £415 per standard session, Hepatitis C £426, High Flux £431, with surcharges (about £20) for bank holidays. There are also package deals, eg £1,197 for three standard treatments. And I don’t resent these charges. They are just the cost of dialysing in Harley Street in London. I still lap up the atmosphere. But they do have a rip off fee they I do resent: As part of booking a session, they ask for copies of a range of blood tests etc: • Latest blood results for Full Blood Count (FBC) and Biochemistry(U&E)* • Latest blood results for Hepatitis B and C* • Haemodialysis Flow Sheets* (For one week) • Medical Summary/Report*(Stating is fit and well to travel) • Nose Swab & Throat Swab & Groin Swab for Methicillin Resistant Staphylococcus Aureus (MRSA)* • Latest blood results for Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)* • Rectal Swab for Carbapenem Resistant Organism(CRO) * * Compulsory - All no more than 4 weeks old Which is all pretty normal (after all Chinese dialysis units also ask for Syphilis tests). Yet on the very same page, they also say: Blood tests for Hepatitis B and C is compulsory for non-UK based patients prior to commencing the first dialysis. These will incur an additional cost of approximately £115.00-£125. So they want my latest blood tests and then they ignore them, for cash. Up front. Looks very much like a money grabbing technique to me. I give my blood with very poor grace. But there’s no option. This is why I have rated the London Clinic at 4.5 points. This greedy little sting in the tail at the start takes the shine off.

Comfort Quality of Care

5.0

4.5

Cleanliness Ease of Booking

5.0

4.5

"Beach and country dialysis in beautiful Gippsland"

4.5

Bairnsdale Dialysis Unit

Reviewed: 26/02/18

Back in Jan 2011 we went to Metung, about 4 hours from Melbourne. It is a tiny village nestled on Lake King on the Gippsland coast. it’s only 20 minutes from Bairnsdale, the largest town in the region and luckily, the home of the Bairnsdale Dialysis Unit (part of Bairnsdale Regional Health Service). It is a very friendly unit, with capable and professional staff who know their business. Being part of a public hospital, BigD is free to all locals. I don’t know what they charge for overseas visitors, but with all the lakes, rivers, and secluded beauty spots, it’s worth it! I had a great session. It went quickly and I was back at Metung within 30 minutes – in time for a barbecue dinner and a stroll along the waterfront. Highly recommended!

Comfort Quality of Care

4.0

4.5

Cleanliness Ease of Booking

4.5

3.5